Video: Zavier Simpson, Ignas Brazdeikis talk Spain prep

Zavier Simpson continues to impress me. Not only his work ethic or defense on the court; his cognizance, his ability to realize what makes a team, a team. Am enjoying his growth as player, and a leader.

Z just got me so fired up.

Iggy saying JB told him he’s going to play a lot of minutes at the 2 and the 4 seems a lot like “we need to get this kid on the floor and Charles isn’t coming off it”. I don’t remember too many (any?) freshmen that have played both in the backcourt and the wing 3/4 spot during their first year

We haven’t had anybody play 2 and guard 4s as a freshman I think. But Poole played forward exclusively to start the season and then started playing guard as well about halfway through the season.

Yeah I was going to say Poole was the only one in recent memory but by the end of the year he was also playing like 8 minutes a game only…my guess is Iggy has a much bigger role but time will tell

Caris did a little bit

Iggy’s confidence seems sky high and he did a good job of keeping Charles in front of him.

DD seemed a little bit in shock by how fast you need to be to stay in front of Z.

Nunes looks like a great natural athlete.

Davis had a great pass!

Liked the way Teske looked shooting that 3!

The length of Poole’s shorts is getting into Daisey-Duke territory.

Z seems to be a born leader to me not only on the court but will be in life. I can relate to his fear of flying over water also.

Novak was a 2G to start but ended up at the 4 because that was the only place to put him with Stu and Manny. That’s the only other player I can think of though.

Yeah, that quote makes a lot of sense. Sure, Iggy has to learn two spots, but that helps you get to a more manageable rotation and he can fill the gaps. Speaks to the positionless language that we’ve used often here in the past few months.