'I wanted to stand for something right': Isaiah Livers steps into leadership role with kneeling

6 Likes

It takes more guts to do it when it is not what everyone else is doing. Just as it took guts for some to remain standing when everyone else was kneeling. Good for Isaiah keeping the issue alive. I hope we understand each other a little more now. It can’t continue to be us versus them. We are all “us”.

7 Likes

Bravo 1989and.

1 Like

BLM isn’t about us versus them.

4 Likes

I’m not saying that it is. What I mean is that I like teammates supporting each other. That doesn’t mean they have to make the exact same choices. It seems that Luke Wilson understands what Isaiah is doing and why. Also it seems that Isaiah gets that if other players stand for the anthem it doesn’t mean they are against him.

As a veteran, I simply want to say that kneeling during our National Anthem is disrespectful. The blood of patriots has been spilled on foreign soil so that citizens have the right to enjoy all the freedoms that this country offers. I served in Iraq from 2005-2006 and came back in one piece with all my mental faculties intact. My cousin served in the Marine Corps in Fallujah and shortly after I came home, I was attending his funeral…he was KIA.

The exercise of free speech is also guaranteed by our constitution and Mr. Livers is entitled to kneel or peacefully demonstrate any way he pleases. I take exception to " “There’s no disrespect to veterans at all,” “…a retort to thin air-…”, due to the fact that 1 percent of the United States population serves in the armed forces and of that group, 1 percent have actually served in combat zones. I would challenge Mr. Livers to seek out the opinions of combat veterans and see if they are offended by his kneeling for the anthem, yet understanding of his right to do so.

4 Likes

I don’t think Isaiah’s decision to kneel is about the flag or the military.

12 Likes