First Look: Florida Gators

2 Likes

You know, I’m a Florida grad but a lifelong UM fan so will be pulling for Michigan. Gotta say these match ups are really getting old (especially in football).

2 Likes

Quick observations on Florida based on KenPom + HoopMath:

Rotation:

G - 6’2" KeVaugh Allen - Shoots lots of unassisted 2s and 3s, not effecient at either. Doesn’t get to the rim or draw fouls . Not much of a passer.
G - 6’5" Andrew Nembhard - Great passer. Elite in transition. Solid at getting to the rim. Solid shooter. Not much of a pull-up guy. Doesn’t take a ton of shots. Seems like a fairly typical freshman 5 star point guard on a meh team.
F - 6’5" Jalen Hudson - Good finisher. Can get to the rim.Takes a lot of threes (spot-up and pull-up), but he’s really bad at it and it tanks his effeciency.
F - 6’5" Keyontae Johnson - Good finisher. Good three point shooter. Doesn’t take enough of them. Also a very good rebounder.
C - 6’9" Kevarrius Hayes - He’s a big man who dunks and blocks shots. Elite block rate. High effeciency.

G - 6’3" Noah Locke - Just a shooter
C - 6’9" Dontay Bassett - Replacement level big man

2 Likes

Some red flags here for me (note: hasn’t been seen here much, but virtually every team has red flags for me. Call me “equivocating eeyore”).

Michigan really struggled against Penn State against that soft press, and had trouble with it when Montana broke it out. Beating that press and producing efficient offense is going to be a huge deal.

It doesn’t take much for Michigan to get shut down on offense, so good defenses spook me. Texas Tech and FSU are worries for me if Michigan advances for the same reason. If Florida knows how to play in a slog-fest, they’ll be comfortable playing in a game in which Michigan is largely good on defense but can’t get things moving on offense.

Dylan tweeted a couple of times tonight about Michigan “not getting in gear” on offense. That’s… an evergreen statement.

This looks to be a tough game.

3 Likes