Basketball Film Room Resources

I love basketball but I am very new to the X’s and O’s of the game. I did not grow up playing basketball in an organized setting. Therefore, I find myself wanting to understand the game on a more nuanced level. I learn best through visual aids. Can this community help me:

• Locate some online film sources:
• YouTube
• Any resource that is accessible to me

• Share some of your favorite sets run by teams, such as:
• The Bulls / Lakers triangle offense?
• I believe Georgetown has a famous set?

Thank you ahead of time. I figured August was as good a time as any for selfish requests. I hope this is okay Dylan. Let me know if it’s not.

6 Likes

Hoopvision68 on YouTube. Go to his Xs and Os deep dives section and pick one. If you end up watching all of those you’ll know much more than the average fan. You can kill a ton of time there

I know there are some other good YouTube accounts out there as well but that’s the primary one I watch and good for anyone to watch regardless of expertise. They’re informative but also go back and add history and are extremely entertaining. There’s a John Beilein and a Juwan Howard one.

Also fairly sure we had this discussion a year or two ago

6 Likes

@kturnup, my guy! You’ve never let me down. I’ll check it out right now.

1 Like

The one he just posted where he broke down every title game since 2000 would be a great start. Then he also made one with the 10 plays every college team uses which would be a good starting point also

1 Like

Gibson Pyper posts here all the time and he’s great. Follow him on Twitter for sure but def check out his YT channel:

Dylan Murphy used to post a bunch of basketball stuff on his medium blog and it’s still great reference material:

Some other Twitter follows:

@eric_shap
@coachliamflynn

5 Likes