Austin Davis sidelined indefinitely with right foot injury

Wouldā€™ve been nice for Johns to get more center reps against the mid majors in hindsight. Oh well.

3 Likes

Welp I guess Dickinson is starting now

3 Likes

Bummer for Davis. Thankfully we donā€™t play much the rest of December. Silver lining is that this forces the coaching staff to start Dickinson.

1 Like

A quick google search says 9-12 weeks for recovery, but I am not a doctor and have no idea how accurate that timeline is and how it changes with severity.

Oh man. Feel terrible for the big man. Fifth year and all. Thatā€™s a painful injury. Recall Adreian Payne suffering through this some years ago.

3 Likes

Just glad itā€™s nothing permanent that would require surgery and/or extensive rehab

B1G schedule appears (at least right now) to be pretty back-loaded. I guess Iā€™d rather have him at the end than right now, if we had to choose.

2 Likes

Atleast this board can claim a lot of foresight on this too

5 Likes

I donā€™t want to say that ā€œUMHoops forum coaches a basketball teamā€ would win the national title by year 3, but Iā€™m also not counting it out :wink:

8 Likes

Damn that sucks. Really feel for Davis. Iā€™ve had plantar fasciitis before and patience is the key. I reinjured it twice trying to push myself too early and it ended up taking over 6 months to fully recover.

Eli Brooks was named Michiganā€™s third captain this week after Austinā€™s injury.

2 Likes

Maybe I am just a gloomy gus but I think we will feel his absence badly

1 Like

So it was pointed out on Reddit that the report describes a ā€œplantar fascia injuryā€, which isnā€™t necessarily plantar fasciitis. Still not a doctor, so I donā€™t know whether that implies a potential quicker recovery timeline, but itā€™s something to note.

Yeah, Juwan said plantar fasciitis (although kind of mispronounced it) so a bit unclear what he was trying to say.

Video is here, first question:

1 Like